The European Parliament today gave final approval to ease travel restrictions, allowing Ukrainians with biometric passports the right to enter the European Union for up to 90 days out of any 180 day period visa free for tourism, for visiting relatives or friends, or for business purposes, but not to work.

The measure, however, will not apply to all EU states, as UK and Ireland, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland regulate entry requirements according to their respective national laws.

The legislation still needs to be formally adopted by the Council of Ministers. It is likely to enter into force in June, 20 days after it is published in the Official Journal of the European Union.